RSS

Good, and Bad, News and a whole bunch of other stuff

05 Jun

I Am Not Here

Don’t stand by my grave and weep,
For I am not there, I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow.
I am the diamond glint of snow.
I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
I am the gentle autumn’s rain.
When you awaken in the morning, hush.
For I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circle flight.
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand by my grave and cry.
I am not there, I did not die.

– Hopi Grief Song/Prayer

(a good choral version for this song is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJS9h09yGEY and you should go listen to it)

I’ll start with since my last post and work my way to present.  The end of April was pretty crazy with Jury and other prep work for the show.  Surprisingly, I got pretty good marks from Jury, but not good enough to get awards,  Oh well, I wasn’t making my collection in full hopes of getting any awards, I was making them for my friends in accordance with our Steampunk-inspired story we have.

Fashion show, for the most part, was a success.  I think all the shows were sold out, or nearly sold out and there weren’t too many mishaps.  Second and Third show there were one or two garments that didn’t make it out but….to be honest that wasn’t our fault at all, although it does suck.

After the show, it was crazy to get my room clean.  My parents and my brother and sister-in-law helped me clean out the majority of my room the Sunday afterward (May 11th).  Finals went pretty smoothly and I gtfo of my dorm and out of Milwaukee to get home because ACEN was coming really soon.

ACEN was fantastic.  Didn’t buy a lot compared to other years because I needed to try and save my money for my Italy trip (which, holy crap, I leave in 2 days).  Saturday of ACEN was a huge success because my friend Brittany and I dressed up as Silent Hill nurses and we couldn’t walk very far without pictures being taken haha.  Feet hurt like hell, though.  I need to get new shoes for that cosplay.

Monday afterward was okay.  Started new position at work that is primarily focused on guest service.  It’s pretty interesting and most of the times uneventful.

Tuesday, May 20th we received bad news that my Uncle on my dad’s side passed away.  He was a logger and unfortunately he was struck down by a tree.  Week kind of passed by in a blur and then Sunday, May 25th, we received more bad news that my Grandmother (same side), also passed away.  Needless to say, it was a bad two weeks.  Uncle’s funeral was on Wednesday, Grandmother had a wake Friday and the funeral Saturday.  Just kind of….surreal…

It’s been rough, but I’ve had to push through because my trip is coming soon.  I’ve luckily had the support of friends and family, and of course my ever-comforting boyfriend.  For the most part, I think I’ve got everything in order to finish packing, but I still have tomorrow if all else fails.  Plane leaves Saturday and I’ll be in Florence come Sunday.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 5, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
